Printing effects

How to use MultiTrack DAW
muzicman

Printing effects

Post by muzicman »

I searched the forum and read about how to do it, but I'm still having trouble. I want to use a mic room effect, but without it being burned in the track the pan acts like a volume leaving the signal in mono. With the iaa effect printed I could then use the pan control correct? I just couldn't follow the whole 'copy more than one track, leave a little region open' stuff. I'm still new to any kind of digital anything. One step at a time I guess. Thanks
pwnified

Re: Printing effects

Post by pwnified »

Hmm, I think it might have been talking about a little known feature of when copying from more than one track. Usually when copying from a single track, only the region sizes and lengths are copied. So when pasting it just places new regions with the same sizes and lengths, that point to the same underlying audio files (bins). So nothing is printed in this case.

But when copying from more than one track, everything is baked into a new region, with effects. So the workaround at the time, if you wanted to copy all from a single track and bake the results, was to create an empty region on another track, then make the copy with all the source regions selected including this fake region.

But this should be largely unneeded now since Freeze tracks were implemented. Now you should be able to freeze a track, with IAA effects, and the IAA plug will be released for use on other tracks. You can then copy the freezed track, or parts of the freezed track (using the Loop Marker trick), and the copy will have the effects.

Let me know if the freezed track is able to pan, that seems to be a different problem of when effects don't properly implement stereo.
muzicman

Post by muzicman »

Tried the 'loop marker trick' with the freezed track, then copied and pasted it to a new track. No effects. What am I doing wrong?
pwnified

Post by pwnified »

Does the freeze track have effects?
muzicman