Focusrite Scarlett 18i8: How todo four mono tracks? Only one possible.

How to use MultiTrack DAW
Post Reply
aliteralmind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:09 pm

Focusrite Scarlett 18i8: How todo four mono tracks? Only one possible.

Post by aliteralmind » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:01 am

Multitrack is not offering more than one mono track. i have three microphones plugged in, but only one can be recorded as mono. I can record two stereo tracks where one is mono (with one microphone) and the other is stereo (with two microphones), But it is not possible to do two or three or four mono tracks. Once the first time on a track is selected, multi track simply will not offer another. The only remaining our stereo tracks.

This is a problem that is exacerbated with my other issue with the MultiTrack app that I'm having, that input monitoring (output) is only coming through the monitor jacks, not headphone jacks. Therefore whoever is listening is only hearing the tracks being recorded on their particular side.

How can I record more than one mono track? Thanks.

User avatar
pwnified
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:41 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8: How todo four mono tracks? Only one possible.

Post by pwnified » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:24 pm

Use the '>>>IN' button on an empty track to see all the possible input channels. Once a track is recorded with stereo it's not possible to record mono on it, so those mono input channels will not show up in the inputs list. But with empty tracks or mono tracks, you should be able to see all the mono inputs available to that track. If you assign different mono inputs to each of the 4 tracks, they will all be armable simultaneously.

aliteralmind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:09 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8: How todo four mono tracks? Only one possible.

Post by aliteralmind » Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:14 am

Thank you.

Post Reply