Recording is too quiet

How to use MultiTrack DAW
PapaSam

Recording is too quiet

Post by PapaSam »

Hi there!

I am very new to all of this. I was recording my normal talking voice to create an explanation video.
The thing is, that the input seemed to be really quiet. I could barely see any bumps in the waveform. Do you have any suggestions on how to fix this?

I am using an IPad Pro 2020, an XSonic XTone Pro and a Shure SM58.
(I turned the gain almost all the way up)

Thanks in advance.
pwnified

Re: Recording is too quiet

Post by pwnified »

I suspect the microphone being a dynamic mic (low impedance) is not able to drive the high impedance inputs of the XTone, you may have to use a different mic into that interface.

Update: thread on the Shure forums about this https://service.shure.com/s/article/low ... uage=en_US

You can probably use a transformer to convert the microphone.
PapaSam

Post by PapaSam »

Thank your for that information.

I found the following transformator: Shure A85F, which would fit into the INR input of the XTone. Is there a downside to not using the xlr, but instead the line input / is there even an xlr to xlr transformator? (it is a combination thingy on the XTone, where I can use both) I couldn't find one, but maybe you know sth.

Thanks and stay healthy,
Sam
pwnified

Post by pwnified »

Well, technically it's an unbalanced signal coming out of the transformer so shouldn't be xlr. The transformer can take advantage of the balanced mics noise canceling and convert it into a very short run of unbalanced heavily shielded signal directly to the high impedance inputs. The Shure A85F is a great choice. Let us know how it goes!
PapaSam

Post by PapaSam »

It works! I can get a good sounding recording with the transformator and it shows nicely as a waveform.